#86 & #32 Do Something Spontaneous & Watch a Drive In Movie

10 06 2012

ImageAlex and I wanted to get out of town this weekend. We were going to my cousin’s high school graduation party a couple hours drive away in Portland on Sunday, but we still had all of Saturday open to our enjoyment. Since we had the itch, we initially set out to Newport with the intention of picking up beach glass before heading up to Newberg to watch a drive in movie. As it turns out, a piece of a dock from Japan had broken off in the big tsunami and it had washed up on Agate Beach just a few days before. I had read about the dock in this article, and had even commented on facebook about how neat I thought it would be to see. When Alex

Image

mentioned that we were driving by the very beach that the dock had washed up on, I immediately got excited and decided to trade in our beach glass hunting plans to go dock hunting instead! We had to drive around for a little while to find a way to get down to the beach, but eventually we found one. Even from a distance we could see the giant mass washed up on the shore, with dozens of people crowded around. It was definitely a unique experience! It was really amazing to see something so large that traveled all the way across the Pacific Ocean on its own. Since it was a very spur of the moment decision to go see the dock, I think that I can count it as a spontaneous endeavor, and cross #86 off of my list!

Since we had worked up an appetite from our hike to see the dock, we decided to order some clam chowder to go from our favorite beach restaurant – Mo’s. It’s just never feels like a real trip to the beach unless we eat at Mo’s. With our spontaneous trip to see the dock complete, we had to hurry off to Newberg to secure a decent view at the drive in movie theater.

This was both mine and Alex’s first adventure to a drive in theater, and it was awesome! I had to go online to find out where I could even find a drive in theater. As it turns out, there are only 4 of them still operating in all of Oregon, and the one in Newberg was by far the closest to us. The old drive ins had speakers that went in your car, but this theater had been updated so that you just tune your radio to a certain station to hear the movie. Men in Black III was the featured movie of the night. I didn’t have very high expectations, but it was actually pretty neat to see. It had probably been 10+ years since I had seen the first one, and I never did see the second one. It really took me back to my childhood to see Will Smith running around, shooting up the aliens and playing with the flashy memory eraser. I don’t want to spoil anything, but the movie had a really neat ending, that I thought tied things up really nicely. It turned out to be a really amazing day, full of new and exciting things!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

