#8b & #8d Watch Full Metal Jacket & Cast Away

14 06 2012

This has been an unusually busy week for me, what with all the schools letting out for summer (both public schools and the colleges), going to 2 dentist appointments, and me quitting one of my jobs working the front desk at a hotel. Today was in fact, my very last day! It’s bittersweet, because on one hand I’m really excited to have so much more free time, but on the other hand I’m going to really miss all of the great people that I worked with. At any rate, I’ve been really busy! Through all the craziness, I did have time to watch 2 movies over the last couple days.

The first movie I watched was Full Metal Jacket, which is incredibly offensive and inappropriate, but also extremely funny. I put this movie on my summer bucket list because it is one of my boyfriend, Alex’s favorite movies, and also because there are a few quotes that get referenced fairly often. Now I know where to quotes come from! I mostly enjoyed the movie, though I did feel like it dragged on for a long time without any real plot. It just followed that life of one guy, which was interesting, but didn’t have much of a complex story to it. It did have some incredibly funny parts though, and I’m glad that I watched it.

The second movie I watched this week was Cast Away. Before I watched this movie, I knew that Tom Hanks ends up on a desert island with a volleyball, on which he draws a face and names it Wilson. I was actually surprised to see how small of a part the volleyball played in the movie, and also how little Tom Hanks spoke when he was on the island. The majority of the movie was just watching him, and observing his thought process through his actions. Though it was incredibly long (2 hours, 20 minutes), I thought that it was really well done, and I can definitely see why he won an award for his performance. I also really liked the message of the movie, which is that no matter what life throws at you, eventually things will get better. This is definitely a theme I can relate to and appreciate.

I’m pretty happy with my movie choices thus far. They are all movies that I’ve heard references to over the years, but that I had never seen, and I feel like I’m finally becoming a bit more in the loop. Anyways, that’s 2 more off of my list! And I’m super excited that my summer is “officially” starting!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

