#61, #36, #45, & # 34 Beach Glass, Lunch w/Stranger, S’mores, & Forking

15 06 2012


I’m pretty surprised that I actually managed to accomplish 4 things on my list in just one day, but everything just kind of worked out perfectly! Here’s a brief recap of everything:

#61 Expand My Collection of Beach Glass

Alex and I woke up early to go to Otter Rock, where he likes to surf, and I like to pick up beach glass. For those of you who don’t know, beach glass is made when broken glass gets churned in the depths of the sea until it’s smooth, and it eventually gets washed up on the shore. It is typically clear, green, brown, and blue. I have a small but growing collection of beach glass, and it seemed like the perfect thing to add to my summer bucket list! I spent about an hour scouring the shore, and ended up with a decent sized  handful to add to my collection!

#36 Have Lunch With a Stranger (My Treat)

This item on my list wasn’t planned for today, but it ended up working out quite nicely. After 3 hours on the beach, Alex and I were quite hungry for lunch, so naturally we stopped at Mo’s. As I have mentioned before, Mo’s has amazing clam chowder (among other things), and it really completes the experience of going to the beach. The Mo’s that we were at was just an annex of their main restaurant in Newport and had limited seating, so some tables were shared. Shortly after we sat down, a nice elderly couple joined us at our table, and we had a great time talking about where we were all from and what we were doing that day. They told some fun stories that really livened up our meal, and I couldn’t think of a nicer pair of strangers to treat to lunch.  We finished and left before them, so I’m sure they had a pleasant surprise after we were gone!

#45 Make S’mores

In honor of Father’s Day weekend, Alex and I cooked a nice dinner for my family, and I decided that it would be the perfect time to use our fire pit to have s’mores for dessert. Somewhere in the online world I had stumbled across the awesome idea to do different variations on regular s’mores, and I knew that I had to try it!  I set off for the grocery store with the idea to get different flavored graham crackers and a couple different types of chocolate, and we ended up with 4 types of marshmallows (plain, strawberry, caramel vanilla, and chocolate vanilla), 3 types of graham crackers (plain, cinnamon, and chocolate), and lots of chocolate variations (milk, dark, toffee and almond, cookies and cream, Andes mints, and Reese’s peanut butter cups). The 3 variations I tried were (1) chocolate crackers/strawberry marshmallow/cookies and cream, (2) cinnamon crackers/caramel vanilla marshmallow/ Reese’s, and (3) chocolate cracker/chocolate vanilla marshmallow/Andes mints. They were all really good, and it was so much fun trying out the different combinations! Who knew s’mores could be so much fun?

#34 Fork Someone’s Yard

The final item I checked off tonight was forking someone’s yard. I chose to put this item on my list because I wanted to pull a prank that was fun and daring, but without causing any damage. When I initially made my list about a month ago, my sisters Hannah and Haley both really wanted to do this one with me. Hannah had one friend in particular that she really wanted to prank, so we geared up with 200 forks, put our eye black on, and embarked on a stealthy mission to cover a yard with forks. We took caution to remain unnoticed by opening the fork boxes in the car, not shutting the car doors, and agreeing not to talk. We left a note on the front porch that included an inside joke Hannah and her friend had so that she would know it was us, and I added in my blog so they could come check it out if they wanted. We managed to get the job done without being noticed, so I’d say it was quite a success!

Actions

Information

One response

16 06 2012
dearshay

That park might come in handy for grad pranks!

Leave a Reply

