#103 & #8j Carve a Watermelon & Watch Grease

16 06 2012

#103 Carve a Watermelon

I was incredibly excited to embark on this adventure. Most people have probably carved a pumpkin at some point, but how many can say they have carved a watermelon? Since Father’s Day is tomorrow, I decided to carve a nice, simple, “Happy Father’s Day!” message. Initially, I tried cutting a circle out of the top like you do with a pumpkin, but I quickly realized that I was going to have a really difficult time scooping out the insides. I decided to slice the entire top off instead, and to flip it upside down before carving my message on the side. This proved to be an especially good idea, because it gave me a solid base for the watermelon to stand up. Eventually, I managed to get all of the pink out and I moved on to sketching my design. I taped it onto my watermelon, and proceeded to use my pumpkin carving tools to finish the job. I think it turned out pretty awesome!

#8j Watch Grease

My day concluded by watching Grease for the first time. Basically, the only things that I knew about it was that it had John Travolta, and it was set in the 50’s. That’s about it. I had no idea that it was a musical.  I didn’t think that the singers were the best, and the acting was beyond cheesy and terribly unrealistic.  I can’t say that it was my favorite, but I’m glad that I watched it. Like all of the other movies I’ve seen from my list so far, I feel like I will now be more in the loop whenever this movie gets referenced. Thanks to my future sister in law, Ashton, for recording it for me! Another one bites the dust!

Actions

Information

One response

15 07 2012
#109 Float the River, #18 Half Birthday, & #88 Country Fair « my100daysofsummer

[…] this summer. I also tried to get a tan tattoo for the second time (the first time I tried was when I carved my watermelon), but it barely showed up at all, so I’ll have to work on that one in the […]

Leave a Reply

