#102, #12, & #58 Win a Prize, Picnic, & Bright Lipstick

8 07 2012

#102 Win a Prize

I rolled out of bed on Saturday morning and slumped into my desk chair to start going through my emails, like I do most mornings. I was quickly wide awake when I opened one that started with “CONGRATULATIONS!” Last week I had entered a contest to win a pair of heart shaped sunglasses from a girl named Sarah who writes her own summer bucket list blog, Gone With the Summer. Reading Sarah’s blog was a huge inspiration to start my own summer bucket list blog, and I have been following her summer adventures for a couple months now.

Owning a pair of heart shaped sunglasses was an item on Sarah’s summer bucket list, and she decided to give a pair away to one of her followers too. You can see her blog post about it here. I entered her contest not really expecting that I’d win, and my suspicions were confirmed when she stated on her Facebook page that she had picked a winner and they had already been contacted. However, since the winner didn’t respond within 3 days, she picked a new winner and it was ME! I was super excited to get the email, and it wasn’t until that very moment that I realized that winning a prize was one of the items on my own bucket list, and I had just completed it! I had even been calling in to radio stations throughout the last week trying to win free movie tickets, but I never made it through because the lines were always busy. Completing this one just kind of happened all on its own!

Edit: See my update here!

#12 Have a Picnic

After my morning of super exciting news, my wonderful boyfriend, Alex, texted me from work to tell me how bored he was and wanted to do something fun tonight. Since it was such a nice, warm day, it seemed like the perfect time to surprise him with a picnic! I found a large basket and filled it up with sandwiches, chips, crackers, cookies, blueberries…etc, and I made a special trip to Market of Choice to pick out some random cheeses (because Alex LOVES cheese) and to get my favorite Apricot Chipotle dip. I also included a bottle of sparkling grape juice and a pair of plastic champagne glasses that a wonderful family I used to babysit for gave me for Christmas, so that Alex and I could enjoy a fun bubbly drink together. Seven months later, we finally got around to it, and it was such a fun treat to have! (Thank you Amy and family!) I also brought some fun card games, and Alex and I had fun discovering our pretend futures in the game of Life Adventures. I found a message in a bottle that led me to a huge inheritance which allowed me to buy lots of houses and cars and a plane and to travel the world. Alex spent his life in school getting 3 degrees and being a stunt double. We decided to travel back to the school where we first met in the 6th grade, which was Eugene Christian School. They are actually moving the school to a new location across town, so the building was empty and the grass was all overgrown, but it was still nice to take a walk down memory lane.

#58 Wear Bright Lipstick For a Day

I put this item on my list because I almost exclusively wear Strawberry Chapstick and only occasionally a lip gloss, and I thought it would be fun to go around with a huge splash of color for a day. I love the glossy shine that lip gloss offers, but it wears off really fast, so I don’t usually bother with it. I honestly don’t remember when or how I got this lipstick, but I’ve owned this one really bright stick for as long as I can remember. I put it on early in the day and only felt the need to reapply it once more in the evening – I couldn’t believe how well it stayed on! I actually really liked the color and could definitely see myself wearing it again on a more regular basis. I might just have to invest in a few more shades of pink for my lips!

I went to a friend’s birthday party in the evening and met a girl there who (in my opinion) looked like a slightly younger version of Carly Rae Jepsen, who sings “Call Me Maybe”! Don’t you see the resemblance?! Anyways, it was a really fun end to a really amazing day!

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 07 2012
thesummergames

Congrats of winning the sunglasses!

9 07 2012
akfitz

Thanks! It was an unexpected surprise!

21 07 2012
Mail Updates, #8h Watch The Goonies, #81 Jello Shots, #82 Flavored Cigar, #108 High Tea « my100daysofsummer

[…] win an adorable pair of heart-shaped sunglasses, and  was so excited to find out that I won! Since winning a prize was on my summer bucket list, it was an especially awesome that I got to check it off by winning a […]

Leave a Reply

