#8e Watch Breakfast Club

9 07 2012

The Breakfast Club was next on my list of movies that people can never believe that I haven’t watched. I was over at our friend Patrick’s house and saw it sitting on a shelf under his TV, so naturally I asked to borrow it.  As it turns out, it was one of his wife’s all time favorite movies!  I really didn’t have any idea what this movie was about when I put it on my list, but I had heard the name so many times that I figured it was something I should probably see. The first thing I noticed was that it had Molly Ringwald, who plays the mom in the TV show Secret Life of the American Teenager. I had no idea that she had ever acted in anything before that show, let alone as a lead role when she almost 30 years younger. At first, I couldn’t believe that the movie was rated R, because it was about a group of high school students stuck in a Saturday detention! But as it went on the content became increasingly more risque. Abusive families, parents who expect perfection, the stress of performing well in sports to get a scholarship, peer pressure to smoke pot and admit virginity, the thought of committing suicide… this movie really did have it all, and I feel like it touched on actual issues in a fairly realistic way. I realized that I had watched other TV shows that had episodes similar to The Breakfast Club, throwing a bunch of kids together in Saturday detention and watching them bond. Most recently, I watched an episode of Dawson’s Creek that did the same scenario, and I know I’ve watched others that followed the same story too. All in all I liked the movie, and I’m really glad that I watched it. It’s amazing to me that even thought it was made in 1985, I feel like a lot of the issues are basically the same that teens face today. And another bucket list item bites the dust!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

