#57 & #87 New Hair Style & Waxing

11 07 2012

#57 Try a New Hair Style

My hair has basically been the same style forever. Long, straight, and dark brown. I’ve never dyed my hair. I’ve never bleached it. I gave up layers and bangs a long time ago. So I felt like it was time to try something new. I had been thinking about trying to dye a strip of my hair a different color for a while, but was afraid by the permanence of it. Plus, since my hair is so dark they would have had to bleach it first, and then color it. And then I’d have to deal with it growing out. So I was really excited when I saw a pink strip of color in my sister, Hannah’s hair and I learned the exciting news that you could add color into your hair in just a few minutes with the simplicity of a hair extension! I’ve been meaning to make an appointment for myself to get one put in for over a month now, and I finally got around to doing it. Since my former hair stylist didn’t do extensions and I was long overdue for a trim, I decided to turn to Google to discover a new salon. That’s how I stumbled upon Face It! They were a pretty reasonably priced, really fun place, and best of all, they did extensions! Rochelle was my stylist, and she was the sweetest person ever! And when I told her about how this was an item on my summer bucket list, she offered to do the extensions for free! I will definitely be going back to her in the future! I had never had extensions before, and I couldn’t imagine having a whole head of them, but having my one little strip is really fun. It blends into my hair really well, and adds a little bit of excitement into my ordinary hair style. #57 was a definite success!

#87 Get Something Waxed

Since I was already at a salon, it made sense to check off #87 at the same time. I had never gotten anything waxed before, and the idea somewhat terrified me. Big mean strips of hot wax being yanked off of my body, ripping my poor hairs from their follicles, while they scream at me in waves of pain… Perhaps I’m being a bit dramatic, but I was really afraid of how much it would hurt. Since I pluck my eyebrows nearly every day, I figured that they would be the least likely to cause pain. Applying the wax was actually a really interesting sensation. It felt like a soft brush rubbing warm goo on my face, with the consistency of thick honey. The ripping process was really minor, and felt more like yanking a piece of scotch tape off my skin. Laying on a table with all of the bright lights while getting plucked and trimmed made me feel like Katniss in the Hunger Games. All in all, I was impressed by how little it hurt, and I really like the smooth finish that the waxing left. I just might be going back sometime to get my brows done again, and I might even venture into waxing other areas one day. Definitely glad I overcame this fear and checked this one off of my list!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

