#70 Hot Tub + Glow Sticks, #41 Donate Blood, #8k Watch The Borrowers

23 07 2012

#70 Hot Tub + Glow Sticks

I first saw the idea to let kids take a bath in the dark with glow sticks on Pinterest, and I thought it would be really fun to adapt this for my summer bucket list. When you combine house sitting at a place with a hot tub (they’ve assured me that they don’t mind if I have people over), with my Jello shots, and a hand full of young adults, you’ve got the perfect mix to add in glow sticks! I picked up a couple packs in the $1 section at Target a few weeks back, and it was the perfect scenario to bring them out! Unfortunately, it’s hard to take good pictures in the dark, while showing both the people and the glow sticks, but I still got a few decent shots of our excitement. Adding in glow sticks was definitely a fun touch to an otherwise ordinary hot tub!

#41 Donate Blood For the First Time

I have a serious dislike for needles, but I got stuck by them 5 times within 3 days! Since I am starting nursing school this fall, I went in on Friday to get my tetanus shot updated, to have a little blood drawn to prove I’m immune to the Chicken Pox, and to have a test showing that I haven’t been in contact with tuberculosis. Then, I had signed up to give blood at my church blood drive on Sunday, so they got to stick me a couple more times for that! I had never given blood before, but I had always thought that it was a really neat idea. It’s something that almost anyone can do, that doesn’t cost them any money, that can help save peoples lives. I know that if I had a serious injury that required blood transfusions that I’d be incredibly grateful to the donors, and felt like it was something I should try at least once. I was incredibly nervous leading up to my appointment because my wonderful boyfriend (who is a paramedic) was kind enough to talk to me about how big the needle was.  I can do pretty well with small needles, but the bigger ones really shake me up! I never actually saw the needle because I kept my head turned the whole time and it was covered with a piece of gauze while I was donating, but I could definitely feel it going in and coming out! Inside the bloodmobile I had to sit in a chair that elevated your legs, keeping you in a leaned back position. Once the needle was in, I had to gently squeeze a foam ear of corn, and after several minutes (that seemed like an eternity) they told me I was done!  I mostly felt fine afterwards, except that I was pretty lethargic, took a long nap in the afternoon, and felt hungrier and thirstier than usual. Going to yoga this morning was also a lot more tiring that it normally is, but I think the side effects I experienced were pretty normal considering I gave away at least 10% of my blood! The best part was that our local Dari Marts sponsor blood donors by giving them a free pint of ice cream when you donate! I don’t know how often I’ll donate blood, but I definitely could see myself doing it again sometime in the future!

 

#8k Watch The Borrowers

I rented this one randomly with my free kids rental pass from blockbuster, and what a lucky gem it turned out to be! I loved it so much that I HAD to add it to my list so I could blog about it. Is that cheating? Well I don’t really care! I knew that The Borrowers is a book (though I’ve never read it), and that they just came out with a Japanese anime version of it called The Secret World of Arrietty, which I loved, so I decided to try this one out. First of all, it was really neat how they showed the story of tiny people living in our world, and I thought it was really cute how it was set in Europe. But the best part was discovering 3 characters from the Harry Potter movies! This movie had younger versions of Draco Malfoy, Arthur Weasley, and Professor Slughorn! Talk about an amazing surprise! It also had Hugh Laurie aka House who played a police officer, but that wasn’t nearly so exciting as the others. Anyways, it was a cute movie, but if you’re a Harry Potter buff like me, you should totally watch it to see the characters! Little Tom Felton (Draco) playing Peagreen was just adorable! Definitely glad I stumbled upon this one!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

