August Adventures

3 09 2012

Since my last post was almost a month ago, I guess it goes without saying that I’ve been severely slacking in my bucket list blogging. The problem is that I spent almost the entire last month house sitting for 3 different families, and was therefore not at home in my usual routine of blogging at night before bed. Yes, I do have a laptop and should have just posted from there, but… well, once you get behind, it’s hard to catch up! At any rate, here is a brief recap of the bucket list items I completed over the last several weeks!

#7a Read A Tale of Two Castles

I started reading this book, only to discover that I just read it earlier this year. I don’t remember when exactly I managed to get around to reading it, but from the moment I read the first few sentences, I realized that I knew exactly what the story was and how it ended. Since my goal of putting books on my summer reading list was to read books that I hadn’t gotten around to yet or hadn’t read in a really long time, I decided to just not worry about this one. Maybe I will have forgotten the story and will enjoy re-reading it in another two or three years.

#7d & #7e Read the Kane Chronicles: Throne of Fire & Serpent’s Shadow

I was really excited to finish out this trilogy of stories from Rick Riordan. I had re-read the first in the series earlier in the summer, and was really looking forward to see how the story ended. It was definitely interesting, and I really enjoyed them, though I was a little bummed that I could pretty well figure out some of the things that were happening before the author explained them to us. I like it when a story line is so complex that I can’t figure it out and I just have to keep reading to figure out how it all works. At any rate they were still great stories, and I’m glad I got around to reading them.

#51 Play a Game at a Fair

A group of my friends were all going to our local county fair, so I seized the opportunity to play a game and ended up winning a prize. I was really blown away by how ridiculously expensive the games were, and couldn’t believe how many people were playing them. It cost me $3 to throw ONE dart at a wall of balloons. Needless to say, I don’t think I’ll be playing very many games at fairs in the future.

#65 Build an Epic Sand Castle

My wonderful boyfriend, Alex and I took advantage of a gorgeous day at the coast to build a sand castle. I don’t even remember the last time I had built one, but I know I was much younger. I remember the flimsy plastic shovels, and only having one sized bucket, so you couldn’t really stack things on top of each other. Since I was determined to build a good castle, I came prepared with a big shovel, and several different sizes of plastic containers. Alex and I decided to build a moat, and to use the sand from where the moat was to build up the castle. Unfortunately, part way through the process of piling up a mound of sand, we realized that we were digging up a bunch of tiny baby crabs! They were smaller than my pinky nail and their shells weren’t hard yet, but they were definitely squirming and wiggling and in our way! I wasn’t interested in starting over, so we ceased building the height of the castle up any more and just tried to make it look even. We added some towers on top, a bridge across the moat, and decorated it with a bunch of nearby shells and feathers. I think we ended up with a pretty awesome castle!

#71 Dress Up Super Fancy

My mom was getting married this summer, so I knew I’d be dressing up super fancy for it. A dress, heels, hair, nails, makeup… I felt like I was getting ready for a prom!

#79 Temporary Tattoo

I was soooooo excited to see my favorite childhood “zebra gum” when I was checking out at a grocery store one day! there are several different fruity flavors, the gum is striped, and the wrappers have temporary tattoos on them! You just moisten your skin, set the paper on, and it transfers the tattoo! Absolutely nothing has changed about this gum since I was a little kid, and it was a huge trip down memory lane to find a pack.

#95 Get a Massage

I bought a discounted massage from a site similar to Groupon, and decided that it would be the perfect opportunity to check this item off of my list. Unfortunately, the lady didn’t push very hard at all, and I don’t feel like very many of my knots got worked out. It was still relaxing though, and I look forward to getting one again sometime. (I forgot to take a picture.)

Whew! It feels great to be all caught up again! This week I will be eating sushi, going fishing, and getting ready to leave on a trip to Vegas for the first time! Sadly, I only have 3 weeks until school starts. =(

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

